The Community Foundation for Ireland announced the winners of the 9th annual Philanthropist of the Year Awards at a luncheon yesterday hosted by broadcaster Marian Finucane in Dublin.

This year’s National, Corporate and International winners join other well-known philanthropists such as Carmel and Martin Naughton, Brendan O’Carroll, Chuck Feeney’s Atlantic Philanthropies, Diageo, Vodafone, Mark FitzGerald and Declan Ryan in being awarded the accolade.

Congratulating the award winners, CEO of the Community Foundation for Ireland, Tina Roche said, “This year’s winners highlight the impact sustained, long-term giving can have on a specific cause or issue, as instanced by Maurice Healy’s support for Anam Cara, Applegreen’s support for numerous children’s charities and SAP’s commitment to it’s African Coding Week. Philanthropy is from both the head and the heart; it is truly planned giving. It focuses on results, on the longer term and on the sustainable. We hope that these winners will inspire others to come forward and adopt a more strategic and sustained approach to giving.”

This year’s Philanthropist of the Year Award winners are:

  • Maurice Healy as National Philanthropist of the Year for his significant support for a number of charities including Social Entrepreneurs Ireland (SEI), An Cosán and Anam Cara.
  • Applegreen as Corporate Philanthropist of the Year as they have generated over €1.8 million in support for a number of children’s charities including Barnardos, ISPCC and Debra. Bob Etchingham, Chief Executive Officer collected the award.
  • SAP as International Philanthropist of the Year for their African Coding Week initiative which to date has supported over 400,000 young people in Africa. Collecting the award was Liam Ryan, Managing Director.